Places You Don’t Expect to Find a Lizard

5 January, 2012 § 3 Comments

I heaved my 50-pound suitcase up the last few steps, fumbled my keys out of the bottom of my carry-on, and at 2 AM dragged myself into my apartment after visiting Idaho for the holidays. The vacation had been superb, the journey long, and my last meal (aside from the 3 in-flight peanuts) far too many hours ago. So, propping my eyes open with my fingers, I made a beeline for the kitchen.

Where I encountered this. Sitting on top of the oven.

Lizard on Baking Pan

I have now added “kitchen” and “baking pan” to my list of places I do not expect to find lizards.

Yes, I shrieked, and had there been a chair nearby I would have jumped on it. I peered back around the corner, and so far as I could tell, it wasn’t moving. But it was between me and the refrigerator, so I did what I had to do: ran upstairs, sated my hunger with all the Christmas candy I could find, and avoided the kitchen for 2 days.

It has since moved to the dining room table, as pictured.

But I am happy to note that it moved there on the baking pan, and not on it’s own four, scaly legs.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Places You Don’t Expect to Find a Lizard

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Places You Don’t Expect to Find a Lizard at suchthekaitlin.

meta

