Relatively determined: National Novel Writing Month

14 October, 2012 § Leave a comment

Over the past few days, I have become relatively determined to participate in National Novel Writing Month this year. For anyone who read that first sentence and thought, “Cool, that sounds like fun,” I would like you to know that you are wrong. (For myself, who typed both of the sentences before this one, I would like to remind you that it is unnecessary to point out the thoughts of readers who don’t exist. Regardless, it made me feel better.)

The title is pretty self-explanatory. You (try to) write a novel in one month. And I’m not making this up – this is an actual annual event a guy founded in what was clearly a subtle effort to eliminate the competition by driving any and all potential authors deep into a bottomless pit of insanity.

Or so I imagine – I haven’t even begun yet. But I have been planning and reading my handy-dandy “No Plot? No Problem!” novel-writing kit by the event founder (Chris Baty).

We’re still about half a month away from my planned start date (November 1st), but here is a list, in order of importance, of the things I’m anxious about:

  • Deciding what to actually write about
  • How I will also find time to write and mail my Christmas list during this
  • The 50,000 minimum word limit – that is a lot of typing to ask of my fingers in 30 days. They had better look like little Arnold Schwarzeneggers when I’m done.

The reason I have talked myself into participating despite the overwhelming volume of work it will require of me (all wrapped up into only 30 days) is simply because I would like to accomplish this at least once in my life. Whether it’s good or bad, whether it remains a little file icon on my desktop or anyone ever wants or is allowed to read it – I would just like to know that I am capable of it.

And in case you were wondering, there is a reason I’m sharing this on my blog. One of the tips for keeping yourself motivated is to share with others. So I’m posting here my promise to myself – that I will do this. It might be a rough month, and I might have to cut out nonessential activities like laundry and sleeping, but it will happen.

So here goes, world. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Relatively determined: National Novel Writing Month at suchthekaitlin.

meta

